Mary Ellen Stanek Award for Diversity in Corporate Governance

Mary Ellen Stanek, Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer, Baird Advisors, Robert W. Baird & Co. and MWi emeritus member consistently shows a tireless commitment to diversity as a key to building strong corporations and a more vital Milwaukee region.

In 2014, in recognition of her work and appreciation for the time and energy she has given in service to the Greater Milwaukee Committee (GMC) and Milwaukee Women inc (MWi), the organizations joined forces to create the Mary Ellen Stanek Award for Diversity in Corporate Governance.

The Mary Ellen Stanek Award for Diversity in Corporate Governance is given annually in to an individual or entity demonstrating a commitment to promoting diversity in their corporate structure resulting in increased gender diversity in leadership and on corporate boards in the Milwaukee Region.

Each December the GMC and MWi solicit individuals to nominate a person or organization for this prestigious award. Representatives from MWi and the GMC Future Workforce Committee review nominees and select an awardee.

The award is presented in February at the GMC membership luncheon meeting.

            Past winners:

2013 – Mary Ellen Stanek, Managing Director and Director of Asset Management, Robert W. Baird & Co., Chief Investment Officer, Baird Advisors

2014 – Jeffrey Joerres, retired, Chairman & CEO, ManpowerGroup

2015 – Gale Klappa, Executive Chairman, WEC Energy Group

2016 – Northwestern Mutual

2017 – Susan Schmitt, Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Rockwell Automation & Aurora Health Care

2018 – John Daniels, Jr., Chairman Emeritus of Quarles & Brady

2019 – Gina Peter, Executive Vice President – General Manager, Wells Fargo & Associated Bank

2020 – Linda Gorens-Levey, Partner, General Capital Group & WEC Energy Group 

2021 Ellen Gilligan, President & CEO, Greater Milwaukee Foundation & ManpowerGroup

2022 – Cecelia Gore, Executive Director, Brewers Community Foundation & Froedtert Health

2023 – Dr. Joan Prince, CEO, Executive Strategies Elite & Marquette University


Mary Ellen Stanek Award 2020

Mary Ellen Stanek and Dr. Joan Prince

Mary Ellen Stanek Award 2020

Mary Ellen Stanek and Dr. Mike Lovell, Marquette Univeristy 

About the Greater Milwaukee Committee

The Greater Milwaukee Committee comprises 200 passionate CEOs who work together to make Milwaukee the best place to live, learn, work and play. Currently led by President Julia Taylor and Chair Ted Kellner, the GMC creates new ideas and implements solutions in innovation and talent, economic prosperity and vibrancy of place. For more information, please visit